Who qualifies for disability benefits from the Social Security Administration

The first question that most of our Tennessee and Virginia Social Security disability clients have is whether they will qualify for disability benefits.Sometimes we can predict the outcome, but many times it is hard to know and we simply need to start the Social Security application process. However, we can explain the Social Security claim process to you and give you the definition that the Social Security Administration uses to evaluate whether you are disabled.

The definition of “disability” under the Social Security disability program

For purposes of Social Security disability benefits, the determination of whether or not you are disabled is based on your ability to work.The Social Security Administration says that it considers you disabled if all three of the following requirements are met:

  • You cannot do work that you did before you became disabled.
  • You cannot adjust to other work because of your disability.
  • Your disability has lasted or is expected to last for at least one year or result in death.

What does the Social Security Administration mean by “other work”?

One of the requirements for qualifying for Social Security disability benefits is that your medical condition renders you unable to adjust to “other work.”This can be a difficult requirement to satisfy because the Social Security Administration rules define “other work” very broadly. For purposes of qualifying for Social Security disability benefits, “other work” does not mean work that you have done before, or work that you want to do, or even work that is available where you live.Instead, the Social Security Administration requirement is that your disability prevents you from doing “any other kind of substantial gainful work which exists in the national economy.”Since there is some sort of job, somewhere, for almost everyone, proving that you are unable to adjust to “other work” can be a difficult hurdle to overcome in your quest for Social Security disability benefits.

A Virginia disability lawyer can help with your Social Security claim

The Social Security Administration has its own definitions and rules, and working with these things can be confusing. Give yourself the best chance at getting a favorable result by getting the help and guidance of an experienced Virginia disability lawyer.If you are not already represented by a Virginia Social Security disability lawyer, consider asking for our evaluation of your claim. Please provide a brief description of your claim using the form to the right, and we will respond promptly. Or you may contact us at:Bledsoe Law OfficeVirginia Social Security disability attorneyE-mailServing southwestern Virginia and northeastern Tennessee from three offices:408 Wood AvenueBig Stone Gap, VA 24219No. 2 Church StreetJonesville, VA 242631619 Highway 11WBristol, TN 37620.


Asterisks(*) indicate required fields.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Social Security Disability Library

Areas Served:

We handle Social Security disability claims for claimants from southwestern Virginia and northeastern Tennessee, including these counties and communities.

Virginia Counties:

Bland, Buchanan, Dickenson, Grayson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise, and Wythe.

Virginia Cities and Towns:

Independent cities: Bristol and Norton. Buchanan County: Grundy. Dickenson County: Clintwood. Grayson County: Troutdale. Lee County: Pennington Gap and Jonesville. Russell County: Lebanon. Scott County: Gate City and Weber City. Smyth County: Marion, Saltville, and Chilhowie. Tazewell County: Bluefield, Tazewell, Richlands, and Cedar Bluff. Washington County: Abingdon and Glade Spring. Wise County: Big Stone Gap, Wise, Coeburn, Appalachia, Pound, and St. Paul. Wythe County: Wytheville and Rural Retreat.

Tennessee Counties:

Carter, Greene, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi, and Washington.

Tennessee Cities and Towns:

Carter County: Elizabethton. Greene County: Greeneville, Tusculum, Mosheim and Baileyton. Hancock County: Sneedville. Hawkins County: Church Hill, Mount Carmel, Rogersville and Surgoinsville. Johnson County: Mountain City. Sullivan County: Kingsport, Bristol, and Bluff City. Unicoi County: Erwin and Unicoi. Washington County: Johnson City and Jonesborough.

Experienced lawyers in other regions:

Little Rock Social Security disability attorney, West Virginia Social Security disability lawyer, St. Petersburg Social Security attorney, Albuquerque Social Security lawyer, Murphysboro disability attorney,Vancouver disability lawyer, Syracuse Family Attorney , Fort Lauderdale Disability Attorney,Ohio Disability Lawyer,Minnesota Disability Attorney